Songs of Innocence

After a five year wait, U2 fans have been treated to a new U2 album. Entitled Songs of Innocence, it was recorded in Dublin, London, New York and Los Angeles and is produced by Danger Mouse, along with Paul Epworth, Ryan Tedder, Declan Gaffney and Flood.  It has been generously made available free for download by Apple on their iTunes service until October 13, as well as streaming on Apple Radio and Beats Music.


Track listing:

  1. The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)
  2. Every Breaking Wave3)
  3. California (There Is No End To Love)
  4. Song For Someone
  5. Iris (Hold Me Close)
  6. Volcano
  7. Raised By Wolves
  8. Cedarwood Road
  9. Sleep Like A Baby Tonight
  10. This Is Where You Can Reach Me Now
  11. The Troubles

On October 13, 2014, a deluxe version of this album will be released with 4 extra tracks:

  1. Lucifer’s Hands
  2. The Crystal Ballroom
  3. Every Breaking Wave (From Acoustic Sessions)
  4. California (There Is No End To Love) (From Acoustic Sessions)
  5. Cedarwood Road (From Acoustic Sessions)
  6. Raised By Wolves (From Acoustic Sessions)
  7. Sleep Like a Baby Tonight (Alternative Perspective Mix by Tchad Blake)
  8. Song For Someone (From Acoustic Sessions)
  9. The Miracle (Of Joey Ramone) (Busker Version)
  10. The Troubles (Alternative version)

At first blush, it differs sonically and thematically, compared to No Line on the Horizon. Additional thoughts about the album will be included later. Stay tuned.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.